By Tania Perez

Sadly, my internship is coming to an end soon. When I first met with my mentor she said, “You will be here for a short period of time”. I thought to myself, “Really, it feels like a long time”. I’ve learned that being a researcher requires patience. The experiments for my project took a couple of weeks, so before I knew it I was close to the final week of my internship.

Right now, I’m working on my poster for poster presentation day at Cedars- Sinai Medical Center and University of California Berkeley. It’s a bit overwhelming but I’m sure everything will work out. I know that I should get the maximum use of my time more than ever since it’s almost over.

The people in my lab are really sweet, and I will forever appreciate them for taking their time to teach me. Since day one of my internship, they have been so supportive and patient with me. They are not only my mentors but my friends. At first, I was so scared that I would feel uncomfortable with them, but they have been great.

Throughout my internship I had the opportunity to hear the journeys of doctors that work at Cedars-Sinai. I also had the opportunity to visit the ALS clinic. I spent some time with an ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis) patient and different healthcare professionals including a Neurologist and an Occupational Therapist from Cedars-Sinai who worked with ALS patients.  I didn’t know that so many avenues within the healthcare field existed that allow me to impact people’s lives every day. I will always be thankful for being a part of this program and being able to represent my Hispanic community, while showing that we can have a positive impact in the world.

