By Nikhil Chakravarty

Oh my! I can’t believe that this is my last blog for this program. These seven weeks have really flown by. It’s hard for me to write about this without getting caught up in the moment. After doing all this, I am so blessed to be able to say that I forged the connections that I have with these other like-minded students and the members of my lab. I am extremely thankful to have been given this opportunity to conduct this cutting-edge research. Going off this vein of research, since writing my last blog, my stem cells have really gotten better. I started seeing clear organoid formations by day 13! This was awesome and slightly ahead of schedule. However, I found out by day 21 that the cells died. I mean, ALL the cells died!!!!! How did that happen! I checked the cells on day 18 and they were still good. We’re not sure what happened, but luckily, it was at a point where data collection had to stop anyways, so it didn’t really harm my data collection. Most of these recent days have been preparing my poster and my presentation for the conference, which I am really looking forward to! After finding out that I would represent the Cedars program at the conference, I felt a sense of pride, but at the same time (and the other interns can attest to this), I also felt terrified. I do speech and debate at school, but this is not a speech tournament. This will be the first time that I am actually presenting scientific research, so I am, justifiably, nervous. However, my lab has been extremely supportive and has helped me work on everything. I simply cannot thank my PI and everyone else in there enough. The other interns have not been shy in congratulating me and supporting me. Joking around with them and just having a good time altogether has really made this experience even more rewarding. So, for the final time, this is Nikhil Chakravarty, signing off.

