Anirudh Eranki

Do you remember the Ice Bucket Challenge, which swept the internet and raised awareness for ALS in 2014? The challenge piqued people’s concern for ALS afflicted individuals and their condition in ways which no one could have ever imagined. This summer, I am given the opportunity to explore ALS on a deeper level, and just over the course of this one week I have spent interning at Cedars-Sinai, I have had the tremendous fortune of being able to pursue my own interests beyond anything I could’ve imagined.

At the Regenerative Medicine Institute of Cedars-Sinai, I began work this week under my mentor Dr. O’Rourke. I am constantly reminded of how lucky I am to be guided so carefully by my mentor. Dr. O’Rourke is always extremely involved in my experience, while simultaneously giving me the freedom to explore my research topic on my own. The result is a strong balance between her direction and my discovery, which I have quickly come to appreciate. Dr. O’Rourke works to study a particular gene related to causing ALS called C9orf72 in her lab under Dr. Baloh, and I am very grateful for her taking the time out of her busy schedule to enrich my experience.

As a high school student, I have always enjoyed doing experiments in my science classes. My biology and chemistry classes in particular have led me to find interest in the medical field. Outside of school, I find comfort in practicing Tae Kwon Do and the piano, and try to stay involved in my community to the best of my ability.

As for my research, I will be collecting data and observing the effects of a few stresses on the gene C9orf72, using fascinating new stem cell discoveries. My mentor has helped me to become more familiar with the complex science behind this gene and ALS over the last few days, and not only have I started to gain knowledge on the subject, but I have also picked up crazy, new skills along the way! Reading through a scientific research paper is something I definitely wouldn’t have been able to do last week. But now, it amazes me that I can do so, and heightens my excitement for what’s to come even more. I am confident that the CIRM SPARK program will continue to help me develop new skills over the next few weeks and find my place in the laboratory, and I couldn’t be more excited.

Leave a comment