Fourth Week; Eamon Bashiri

As I reflect on all of the impactful moments from the first of half of my time with the Cedars-Sinai CIRM SPARK Program, it is hard to pick just one memorable moment. From learning about the impact of microRNA 10b (miR-10b) on stem cell homeostasis to learning about correct immunofluorescence procedures to visualize specific proteins, I have gained so much knowledge and experience the past four weeks. But for me, learning how to conduct a Western Blot and analyze the results on Image Studio has proved not only to be immensely valuable, but also extremely exciting. Thanks to the guidance of Dr. Adam Poe, I was able to visually gain an understanding of the numerous steps involved in preforming a Western Blot. The first involves running the proteins through a gel electrophoresis to separate them based on their size followed by transferring the proteins onto a membrane. After blocking nonspecific sites and washing the membrane with a wash buffer such as tris-buffered saline (TBS), primary/secondary antibodies are used to illuminate the specific protein of emphasis. These skills are essential, and I look forward to using them as I work with my mentor and other members of the Saghizadeh Ghiam Lab on our current project of exploring the effects of microRNA 146a (miR-146a) on the inflammation pathway following trauma to the eye. In this study, western blot analysis allows us to quantify the prevalence of inflammatory mediators, such as IRAK1 and TRAF6, in the inflammatory response. I cannot wait for the second half of my internships and continue learning and working alongside some of the brightest minds at Cedars-Sinai.

Leave a comment